Certain New York Storm Victims Get an Extra Month to File with the IRS

The IRS announced today that individuals (and businesses) in five New York counties have an extra month (to May 15th) to file and pay tax returns; this relates to the winter storm that hit between December 23rd and December 28th.  The five counties are Erie, Genesee, Niagara, St. Lawrence, and Suffolk; the primary areas impacted are Buffalo/Niagara Falls and the east end of Long Island.  This extension is automatic.

This extension includes business tax returns that were due in March and individual tax returns due in April and estimated payments due in April.

As of today, this relief is solely for federal (IRS) taxes.  While I do expect the New York Department of Taxation and Finance to conform to this, they have yet to announce that they are conforming.  UPDATE: New York state is not conforming to this extension!

The IRS announcement is here.

Comments are closed.